Skip to main content

The Princeton Prize in Race Relations

Princeton and its alumni recognize that the issue of race relations continues to be one of the most urgent and important challenges facing our country. The Princeton Prize in Race Relations was created to identify and commend young people who are working to increase understanding and mutual respect among all races. Through the Princeton Prize we hope to encourage others to join in these or similar efforts and to undertake initiatives of their own. To volunteer, please contact the Princeton Prize in Race Relations Staff Liaison, Grace K. Penn '99, at

The Princeton Prize in Race Relations

Princeton Prize logo

Presented annually, these awards are presented to students currently enrolled in grades 9-12 in participating regions who have been actively involved in a volunteer activity which has had a significant, positive impact on race relations — broadly defined — in his or her school or community.

Learn more about the awards and application process

Join a Regional Princeton Prize Committee

Princeton Prize symposium

Each year hundreds of high school students apply to receive the Princeton Prize in Race Relations. Princeton alumni in 27 regions across the country work in committees to solicit applications, read them and choose prize and certificate recipients for their regions. For many alumni, being part of a Princeton Prize committee is one of the most meaningful ways to volunteer for Princeton.

Join one of the 27 regional committees by contacting the regional chair listed here, or email


Princeton Prize Symposium on Race

Princeton Prize winners group photo

Sponsored by the class of 1966, the Princeton Prize Symposium on Race is an annual gathering to recognize the regional Princeton Prize winners. This two and a half day event includes presentations by the winners, as well as conversations and workshops on race relations with local high school students, Princeton students, alumni and faculty.

View presentations by the visiting Princeton Prize winners

Committee Leadership

Arati K. Johnston '84, Chair

Steven D. Marcus '10, Vice Chair